Retail Fraud FAQs

1) What is the penalty for first degree retail fraud in the state of Michigan?

The penalty for 1st Degree Retail Fraud is up to 5 years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine or 3 times the amount of the property stolen.

2) What is the penalty for second degree retail fraud in the state of Michigan?

The penalty for 2nd Degree Retail Fraud is up to 1 year in jail and/or not more than a $2,000 fine or 3 times the value of the property stolen.

3) What is the penalty for third degree retail fraud in the state of Michigan?

The penalty for 3rd Degree Retail Fraud is up to 93 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $500 or 3 times the value of the property stolen.

4) Is retail fraud considered a misdemeanor or felony?

Retail Fraud 1st Degree is a felony. Retail Fraud 2nd and 3rd Degrees are misdemeanors.

The difference in degrees is based on the value of the property stolen. If the value is less than $200, then it is a Retail Fraud 3rd Degree. If the value is over $200 but less than $1000, then it is a Retail Fraud 2nd Degree. If the value is over $1000, it is a Retail Fraud 1st Degree.

5) What is organized retail fraud?

Organized Retail Fraud is sometimes charged when a person (or persons) show a distinct plan in targeting certain merchandise or certain stores in committing retail fraud offenses.