Michigan passed a recreational marijuana law known as the Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act in the November 6, 2018 general election.
According to a Michigan state website this act allows that
“under state law the personal possession and use of marijuana by persons 21 years of age or older; to provide for the lawful cultivation and sale of marijuana and industrial hemp by persons 21 years of age or older; to permit the taxation of revenue derived from commercial marijuana facilities; to permit the promulgation of administrative rules; and to prescribe certain penalties for violations of this act.
There are many different stipulations to this new law, one of which is that not just anyone can grow marijuana in mass quantities. There will be specific state approved recreational marijuana retail shops that will open up once specific licenses and regulations have been created.
Beyond the state approved retail shops you can legally grow marijuana in your home. In your own home you are legally allowed to store up to 10 ounces of marijuana or grow up to 12 plants. However, it is important to note that under this new law you are also not allowed to sell the marijuana that you grow at home. You can learn more about the legal sale of marijuana here.
We hope that this information is informative and helpful in regards to outlining the Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act. It is important that if you want to grow marijuana that you keep current on the rules and regulations outlined within the act.
If you find yourself charged with illegally growing marijuana in Michigan then contact our criminal defense attorney today.