Michigan passed a recreational marijuana law known as the Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act in the November 6, 2018 general election.
According to a Michigan state website this act allows that
“under state law the personal possession and use of marijuana by persons 21 years of age or older; to provide for the lawful cultivation and sale of marijuana and industrial hemp by persons 21 years of age or older; to permit the taxation of revenue derived from commercial marijuana facilities; to permit the promulgation of administrative rules; and to prescribe certain penalties for violations of this act.”
While possessing marijuana is now legal in the state of Michigan for those over the age of 21, the distribution or selling of marijuana is more complicated.
An individual over the age of 21 in Michigan may transfer up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana to another adult as long as there is no monetary exchange. In addition, this transfer can’t be advertised or promoted in public. The transfer of marijuana over 2.5 ounces or a transfer involving remuneration must occur via a state operated facility.
If such transfer or sell outside of the legal guidelines occurs then you could be facing fines or jail time.
We hope that this information is informative and helpful in regards to outlining the Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act. It is important that if you want to sell marijuana that you take the necessary steps to inquire about being involved with a state run facility.
If you find yourself charged with illegally selling marijuana in Michigan then contact our criminal defense attorney today.